Qualifying for Housing

​Determining if you qualify for subsidized housing through one of OHA's many housing programs is fairly simple. The biggest factor involves household income, but we also consider whether you qualify as a family, a senior or a person with qualifying disability. At least one family member must be a citizen, national, or noncitizen with eligible immigration status in order for the family to qualify for any level of assistance. The chart below lists the income levels based on household size.


FY 2020 Income Limits Summary

Alameda County, California
Income Limit Area

Median Family Income

Income Limit Category 1 Person 2 Person 3 Person 4 Person 5
Oakland-Fremont, CA Hud Metro FMR Area $119,200 Very Low (50%) Income Limits $45,700 $52,200 $58,750 $62,250 $70,500 $75,700 $80,950 $86,150
Extremely Low Income Limits ($)* $27,450 $31,350 $35,250 $39,150 $42,300 $45,450 $48,550 $51,700
Low (80%) Income Limits $73,100 $83,550 $94,000 $104,400 $112,800 $121,150 $129,500 $137,850

NOTE: HUD generally uses the Office of Managment and Budget (OMB) area definitions in the calculation of  income limit program parameters, However, to ensure that program parameters do not vary significantly due to area definition changes, HUD has used custom geographic definitions for the Oakland-Fremont, CA HUD Metro FMR Area.

The Oakland-Fremont, CA HUD Metro FMR Area​ ​contains the following areas: Alameda County, CA; and Contra Costa County, CA.

* The FY 2014 Consolidated Appropriations Act changed the definition of extremely low-income to be the greater of 30/50ths (60 percent) of the Section 8 very low-income limit or the poverty guideline as established by the Department of Health and Human Services (HHS), provided that this amount is not greater than the Section 8 50% very low-income limit.  Consequently, the extremely low income limits may equal the very low (50%) income limits.