Housing Quality Standards Inspections (HQS)

OHA inspects Section 8 units before the lease begins and throughout the duration of the resident's tenancy. OHA's inspection standards, called Housing Quality Standards (HQS), are basic health and safety standards that are different from housing or building codes.​ All units rented by families assisted under the HCV program must meet HQS. The frequency of these inspections for MTW Voucher units is determined using the Risk-Based Inspection Protocol. Non-MTW Voucher units are inspected at least annually.

Annual inspections for Non-MTW Voucher units will be conducted as usual. Risk Based Inspections protocol only alters the frequency in which units are inspected.​ The result of the annual inspection for MTW Voucher units will result in one of the following outcomes:

Pass on first inspection
  • ​​Result: Schedule next inspection in 24 months
Pass on second inspection
  • Result: Schedule next inspection in 12 months
Fail on second inspection
  • ​Result: Schedule next inspection in 6 months​

OHA performs the following​ types of inspections: